I haven’t posted in a couple of weeks, so I thought I’d give an update.  My last post was about some small steps I had taken to improve my eating habits.  I did great for two weeks, and although I haven’t completely reverted back to my old ways, I have not been as focused and I have indulged several times in the past 10 days.  I’m sure it shows on the scale, but I am not going to check just yet because this is about more than a number.

I’ve been hearing so much lately about different things my friends are doing with their eating, including Weight Watchers, Paleo, and simply counting calories.  I’ve been doing the calorie counting thing, but I missed a few days here and there.  Part of me thinks I need to stick with that because it does help me realize how much I am putting into my body, and therefore somewhat motivates me to do better.  On the other hand, today I was thinking I don’t need to be obsessed with counting every single calorie, but instead just eat when I’m hungry, control my portions, and work on making healthier choices.  That’s easier said than done, but I’m not sure if I can commit to something like Paleo or Weight Watchers.

So right now, I’m just not sure what to do.  For now, I will continue to take it one day at a time, one baby step at a time, and I will seek ways to improve my lifestyle instead of making only temporary changes.  I am a work in progress.  I will make mistakes, but I will not give up.

