It has been 9 days since I have started over in trying to be healthier and lose weight, this time relying more on God than on my own willpower. I am not to the point of totally transforming my diet, and because I’ve been sick for the past week, I have not gotten into an exercise routine, but I thought I’d share some small steps I’ve taken so far.

  • I have tracked my food so I know how many calories I am putting into my body.
  • I have measured my food instead of guessing.
  • I have been drinking more water.
  • When having a big family meal (late Christmas with the step-kids), I planned exactly how much of each food I was going to eat, logged it in my food journal ahead of time, and stuck to it!
  • When planning this big meal, I chose lighter options for dessert than what we would normally have… fruit salad and sugar free chocolate pudding as opposed to pies and ice cream.
  • When having food that was not so healthy, like on New Year’s Eve, I ate half of what I would normally eat.  (Example 2 slices of pizza instead of 4 and 3 chocolate chip cookies instead of 6)
  • I have prayed for God to guide me and give me strength to resist temptation.
  • I have avoided eating for emotional reasons, such as when stressed.  If I craved something because I thought I deserved it or needed it to make me feel better, I did not allow myself to have it.

So these are a few things I have done differently.  I’ve splurged a little, but not as much as I usally do…not to the point of feeling sick or guilty.  The result so far in the past 9 days is 4.3 pounds lost, but even greater than that is hope that with God, this is possible.

