I attended church last night and as I was standing in the presence of Jesus singing along with the worship music, my eyes were filled with tears.  I realized I couldn’t remember the last time I spent time in the Word or sang a song of praise to Him, except for when I’ve been at church.  I also realized how much I need Him…all the time.  Yes, that should be obvious.  We all need Him all the time, but sometimes I treat Him more like an acquaintance than the Lover of my soul.  Occasionally He will come to my mind, I’ll say hello, and then I’ll go about my day.

Because He hasn’t been my focus, I have neglected some areas of my life where He has called me to be obedient. Yes, I try to live in a way that pleases Him, I treat others with love, I generally make good decisions, but recently, I have felt like I have been merely existing.  I go to work, I eat, I watch TV, I sleep, and then I do it all again the next day.  I have been too complacent, yet Jesus said life is meant to be lived to the full.  (John 10:10)  I can’t live life to the full if I’m lazy and disobedient.

As I consider where to go from here, I will end with a prayer, the words to a song from the service last night…

Holy Fire burn away
my desire for anything
that is not of You but is of me
I want more of You and less of me
